A Little Bit of Trust….

Facevase

A well-known optical illusion…..what do you see?

It is clear….

But with a little bit of dilation, it blurs and creates another beautiful picture. It all depends on your perception and what you are willing to see and accept.

For you, it may be a white vase.

For me, it may be profiles of two men.

Neither is right. Neither is wrong. It’s all in how we see it, as individuals.

Do you see life that way sometimes? It was clear once, but now it’s a blur. You used to know what you believed in, you felt comfortable in your position, and then someone came along and blurred up your vision. What you see now is slightly different than what you once saw.

It’s not wrong, just different.

It’s not the new right, it’s just different.

Just like knowing when to go get your yearly eye exam, so things don’t get blurry, it’s important to know when it’s time to get clarity about your vision, your purpose, and your mission in your church.

And, among all of this is the most important….have a little faith in other people. Have a little trust. Have a little “I-believe-in-you” attitude.

303056_638607270277_1024001078_n

This is me, TO-A-TEE!! I certainly REPRESENT this accusation! I admit, 100%, that I have a control issue….I like to be in charge. I like to be aware of what’s going on around me. I like to be involved.

I am fully aware that this is me. I am also fully aware that I have to learn to LET GO if I’m NOT in control. I have to have a “I-believe-in you-and-trust-you” kind of attitude….it is hard.

It’s hard for me, as I’m sure it’s hard for others as well. It’s not easy surrendering control to other people.

The most famous 8 words in the church are: “That’s not the way we’ve done it before!” We’ve all said it. And, hopefully, we can all admit to saying it.

With that admission comes a clear understanding that we all can’t be “in charge” of everything….we must look to God and ask:

1.    What am I good at?

2.    What do I love to do?

3.    What do other people say I am good at?

4.    What really gives me a buzz?

5.    What did I love to do when I was a child?

6.    What do I want to be remembered for?

7.    If money was not an issue, what would I spend my time doing?

8.    What do I believe is God’s purpose for me?

I believe we are all born for a purpose and we are given a mission – trusting that, being clear about what we can expect of ourselves, how that can meet our needs and what we need to promise ourselves and keep, is critical to gaining that clarity and clear vision for where we are heading.

But that we may not always understand, it may not always be clear how something will work out, and that’s where trust kicks in at a whole new level!

 

(For some reason, this post is in two different fonts, and I don’t know how to fix it)!

2 thoughts on “A Little Bit of Trust….

  1. Pingback: I’m Happy All The Time??? and Being a “Good Example” | Finding Refuge

  2. Pingback: Year in Review | Finding Refuge

Leave a comment