So Behind

I can’t catch up. I’ve thought about it. I’ve wanted to. I just can’t. I got a new laptop for Christmas, which would mean I should have an easier time blogging, but I have NO pictures on my laptop, so I’ve had to wait to transfer all of the pictures from my old computer (and my phone) to the new computer. It just takes time, which I haven’t taken. Anyway, no excuses….

Back in August, when we found out we were going to move to Illinois, I thought about what I wanted to do for work. I knew I didn’t want to work full-time (all day, everyday), and in all honesty, I don’t HAVE to work…I just thought it might be nice to have something to do to keep myself busy (as well as make a little money on the side). So, of course, I looked into subbing. Well, LET ME TELL YOU!!! Substituting in Illinois is definitely NOT what it is in Texas. At RLISD (in Robert Lee) and GISD (in Giddings)–where I’ve subbed before–all I had to do is fill out an application. In Texas (depending on what each individual school district decides) you only have to have a GED and no criminal background record. If the school decides to hire you, they pay for your fingerprinting, and you are ready to substitute. In Illinois it is completely different.

You have to:

  1. have a bachelor’s degree from a 4-year accredited college
  2. send in an “official” transcript from your college (for me, it was 2 transcripts)
  3. get a physical (from a doctor)
  4. apply for a substitute license through the state
  5. pay for your own fingerprinting (and travel an hour away to get it done)
  6. register in each county you want to substitute in

So, back in August, I decided I was NOT ready to commit to that….in total it was going to be $246 to pay for all of that, and we weren’t sure if we were going to be able to pay for all of that at one time. So, I waited.

Well, fast forward to December, and I decided to do it (so I could start in the spring semester). After about 3 weeks of trying to get all of my stuff together, getting the right paperwork, going to the doctor, paying all the fees, etc. I finally am registered.

Fingerprints

Fingerprints

CAM04753

My “authorization”

As much as I paid to do all of this, I feel like this piece of paper should be made of GOLD!!

So, now that I have it all done, I just sit and wait….