Joy in the Waiting….

Do you ever feel like you are waiting in anticipation for God….to speed up, to hurry up, to move along, to go faster….

I’m sure we all have…..and I’m there.

But, right now, it’s not about the journey to go forward, it’s about the journey in the waiting….

There are lessons to be learned through the blessings of waiting. Important ones that, unfortunately I’m missing because I’m so impatient.

I want to live a holy life, not a happy life. Happiness is temporary, but Joy is everlasting. Wanting what God wants (and not what I want) is a very hard place to be. I’m trying to get there….really I am. (But, honestly, I’m not sure it’s ever a place you reach–I think it’s ever evolving–you reach it, you fall back, you try again, you fail again)….that’s where Grace comes in.

Anyway….

In life there are certain things we want. In our selfish desires, we want what we think is best for us…NOW. We desire what we want, not necessarily what the Lord wants for us. And, sometimes I WANT to go to any lengths to make it mine. But, I can’t. By God’s grace, I have to wait. I don’t want to be anywhere where the Lord doesn’t want us to be. As a new season is upon us (in ministry it means summer is OVER and the school year has STARTED), do I hope and pray the Lord is getting ready to do great things in our lives (in regards to youth/music/children’s ministry at FBC)? Of course I do. But, it’s one of those situations where many doors could open. God could totally knock my socks off with ministry opportunities far beyond I could ever imagine.

How could we do or want anything that the Lord doesn’t want for us?

“Wait for the Lord; Be strong, and let your heart take courage; Yes, wait for the Lord.” Psalm 27:14

And so we wait. We know what the Lord desires of us.

“O people, the Lord has told you what is good, and this is what he requires of you: to do what is right, to love mercy, and to walk humbly with your God.” Micah 6:8

So, we do what is right. For the 7 1/2 years that Paul and I have been in ministry (together) I have been doing, doing, doing….Now the Lord has begun to show me what waiting looks like….It’s not sitting idle just hoping something happens but it’s being active in your wait. It’s praying, reading God’s Word, and learning to depend on Him for what’s going to happen. It’s growing closer to Him so that we’re learning to hear His voice.

I am listening, Lord.

So today’s lesson.

Enjoy the journey. Enjoy the wait. Be grateful for it.

“Dear brothers and sisters, when troubles come your way, consider it an opportunity for great joy.” James 1:2

In all actuality this verse doesn’t apply 100% because we’re not in trouble…..But the principle is the same. I’ve challenged myself to get to the point where I want the kinds of trials (or troubles) that develop perseverance. A little weird, maybe? But if they produce good in us–wouldn’t we want to go through the pain for the end result?

“For you know that when your faith is tested, your endurance has a chance to grow.” James 1:3

And I leave you with…..

Hungry by Kathryn Scott

Hungry I come to You, For I know You satisfy
I am empty, But I know Your love does not run dry

So I wait for You, So I wait for You

Chorus
I’m falling on my knees, Offering all of me
Jesus, You’re all this heart is living for

Broken I run to You, For Your arms are open wide
I am weary but I know Your touch restores my life

So I’ll wait for You, So I’ll wait for You

I’m falling on my knees, Offering all of me
Jesus, You’re all this heart is living for

Oh, I’m falling on my knees, Offering all of me
Jesus, You’re all this heart is living for

And I wait for you, And I wait for you
And I wait for you, And I wait

I’m falling on my knees, Offering all of me
Jesus, You’re all this heart is living for

Oh, I’m falling on my knees, Offering all of me
Jesus, You’re all this heart is living for

Hungry I come to you, For I know You satisfy

2 thoughts on “Joy in the Waiting….

  1. Pingback: Year in Review | Finding Refuge

  2. Pingback: In Due Time | Finding Refuge

Leave a comment