Fall in Illinois

I’m taking a break from updates on Jeff–primarily because I don’t have any. My “source of updates” (my mom) is back in Texas, so I’m afraid updates won’t be quite as detailed or as often as they were when my mom was there….

Illinois is always so pretty in the Fall. The leaves really started changing a couple of weeks ago.

a tree in Lacon #no filter

a tree in Lacon
#no filter

our backyard #no filter

our backyard
#no filter

Shannon took this picture of the pond

Shannon took this picture of the pond

the bridge across the pond

the bridge across the pond

group on the ropes course last week

group on the ropes course last week

The pictures don’t really do it justice (on how pretty it is), but trust me….although the leaves are beautiful, they can be pretty annoying, too. I’ve tried raking, but it really is a lost cause. Instead, we’ll just continue to track leaves and mud into the house, until it freezes consistently.

About a month ago, Jim was trying to find a leak in an underground pipe (on our side of camp). Well, he couldn’t find the main water line, so he decided to dig up our driveway (because he knew it had to “T” somewhere to the water pipe). So, this is what our driveway looked like for about a week!

1443652884746 1443652884822 1443653666269We had about an 8-10ft. trench in our driveway. It’s fixed now, but instead of having gravel on our driveway, we know just have dirt, which makes a tremendous mess when it rains!!

Earlier this month we had the Annual Great Oaks Banquet. Darryl Strawberry was the keynote speaker…

Paul and me with Darryl Strawberry

Paul and me with Darryl Strawberry

Tyler and Shannon

Tyler and Shannon

Darryl Strawberry and Dr. Washington (Dr. Washington is about 5'4'' and Darryl Strawberry is 6'6'')

Darryl Strawberry and Dr. Washington (Dr. Washington is about 5’4” and Darryl Strawberry is 6’6”)

Those first three photos were taken in a room with good lighting (and with a “professional” camera. The rest of the pictures were taken in the banquet hall, which had HORRIBLE lighting!!

Paul and me

Paul and me

our Great Oaks family: Graham, Shannon, Tyler, Paul, me, Jim, and Ember

our Great Oaks family:
Graham, Shannon, Tyler, Paul, me, Jim, and Ember

Shannon, me, and Ember

Shannon, me, and Ember

We had about 220-230 people there, which was fine. We invited about 20 people to come (all from our church). They are very supportive of our ministry and Great Oaks.

Rita Waller, Scott Montgomery, Angie Hentrich, Tracy Born, Stan Born

Rita Waller, Scott Montgomery, Angie Hentrich, Tracy Born, Stan Born

Jon and Diane Wier

Jon and Diane Wier

Now that the banquet is over, Paul can start working on summer camp….for next year!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

