Texas Vacation 2015 Part Three

Last post about Texas…

A.K.A., otherwise known as the day  the water pipe busted, and we had to go 24 hours without water! (A busted water pipe is a great way to get rid of company)!! Nobody wants to stick around when they can’t drink or go to the bathroom!! (We started out with 16 people at the house and by 3:00, we were down to 7)!

#1

#1

#2

#2

#3

#3

After spending Sunday with no water, I loaded up early Monday morning and drove down to Giddings…

I comtemplated back and forth whether or not I wanted to go to Giddings while I was in Texas….ultimately I decided I wanted to see some of the H.S. girls (that we knew from church/school), so I just went for the day. I knew I wouldn’t be able to see everybody (and that was O.K.)–so I just chose who I wanted to see and was satisfied with that.

Monday morning I went to Jack and Willie’s house for about an hour. They are a really sweet couple that go to FBC and kind of “adopted” us while we were in Giddings. Willie is still upset that we moved! 🙂 After that visit I had coffee with Mrs. Williams, who was the PE teacher at Giddings Intermediate, when I subbed there. She and I became pretty good friends, and I really enjoy hanging out with her. She filled me in on all the latest gossip around the school, which was really fun to hear! (I’m glad she and I were able to connect while I was there)….

Then, I was able to have lunch with 5 of the girls that I knew really well while we were there. I enjoyed seeing them, and I’m glad I went.

Madison and me

Madison and me

Victoria and me

Victoria and me

Kimmy, Dana, Jaycie, and me

Kimmy, Dana, Jaycie, and me

(This picture makes me laugh because Kimmy has antlers)!

After being in Texas for 8 days, Tuesday was the day I was scheduled to fly out. But, because I missed Walker so much I decided to go to back to Georgetown and see him again, before I flew out.

Walker and me

Walker and me

I picked him up from football practice, and we hung out for awhile, before going to lunch. (I bought his lunch this time)….

I stayed as long as I could, before I had to get on the road to go to the airport. He and his family were leaving for Florida that afternoon, so I knew I couldn’t stay forever.

Again, I tried to pack him in my suitcase, but it didn’t work…..I tried to convince him to just move to Illinois, but I don’t think his dad would like that too much (nor would his girlfriend). 🙂

(I’m hoping we go back to Texas around the holidays, maybe in November or December, so I’ll see him again soon)!

The flight home was uneventful, and Paul was able to pick me up at the airport.

Overall, the trip was good. I’m glad I went, and I’m glad we had the impromptu Hubbard reunion over the 4th of July weekend….

 

Leave a Reply

