A Few Random Pics

About 3 weeks ago (the weekend before my parents came) we had an Inner-City kid retreat out at camp. It was actually warm that weekend (lower 40’s) but we still had plenty of snow for going down the snow chute!

We rode on a tube together....

We rode on a tube together….

Paul with the kids, playing in the snow

Paul with the kids, playing in the snow

me with one of our kids

me with one of our kids

Paul with another one of our campers

Paul with another one of our campers

I stayed in the cabin with the 9-10 year old girls….GREAT BIRTH CONTROL!!! 🙂

These next 2-3 pictures are just so I can remember them….

(A little side note)….

I’ve known Sarah now for almost 17 years. I started babysitting for her when she was about 10 months old! (And now she is almost 18! 🙂 Here’s a picture of Sarah when she was about 4 years old!

Miss Sarah Christine

Miss Sarah Christine

Sarah (and her sister, Lindsey) is a really good artist and enjoys painting on canvas. I’ve seen some of Sarah’s art before (and I’ve even had Lindsey make me a canvas or two), so I knew she did good work. About 2 months ago I texted her a picture and I asked her if she could paint a picture for me. This was the picture I texted her. (This is the pond at Great Oaks).

IMG_833452949920979She said she’d try about about 2 weeks later, I got this.

work in progress

work in progress

I was excited to see the result.

IMG_20150122_125342

the end result

Isn’t she talented?!! My parents brought it to me when they came to visit.

I thought it would be neat for me to stand in the spot where the picture was taken (with the picture)….

me

me

IMG_20150213_180654

side by side

So, here we are. The artist with her canvas and me holding the picture (where the original picture was taken). Thanks, Sarah!

**Step into Valentine’s Day**

We’ve never really been big on celebrating Valentine’s Day. Neither Paul nor I are big “gift givers,” so V-day isn’t a huge deal to us. But, this year, we decided to do something a little different. Every year the youth group at First Covenant Church (in Peoria) does a fundraiser dinner on or around Valentine’s Day to raise money for their general budget. So, this year we decided to go to the “Intersection Restaurant of Love” (Some of the Great Oaks kids attend the youth group at FCC, so we know some of them)…They did a very good job, and we enjoyed it!

Decurione is one of our Great Oaks campers

Decurione is one of our Great Oaks campers

the two of us (bad lighting)

the two of us (bad lighting)

us with Decurione

us with Decurione

**A couple of more pics**

Last week I babysat for Ethan, Andi, and Jeremiah. I was in the middle of working on our monthly newsletter, so I employed some free child labor!

she thought they were "stickers" at first

she thought they were “stickers” at first

teaching her where the "sticker" goes on the envelope!

teaching her where the “sticker” goes on the envelope!

Just a funny picture because it’s been a LONG TIME since I’ve seen an old school chalkboard in a classroom–I had to use real chalk yesterday, while substituting for 1st grade.

Kickin' it old school

Kickin’ it old school

I’ve substituted a few times at Lacon Elementary. I’ve enjoyed it. The teachers leave a lot to be desired, but as long as I’m “in good” with the secretary, I’m not too worried about it.

That’s about it….for now.

Leave a Reply

