All He Was Meant to Be

Now that I’m home during the day, I watch a lot of TV. (I’m usually multi-tasking while the TV is on, so it’s not exactly like I’m “vegging” all day). Anyway, yesterday I watch Kathie Lee and Hoda, an extension of the Today show. They had a real sweet feature story about a young man (teenager) who has an older brother with special needs. The young man’s mom had written into the show for a “Everybody has a Story” segment, talking about how Zach (the young man) has always taken care of his older brother, Austin. Well, it was really sweet and definitely a tear-jerker. (Here’s a link to the story, if you want to see it).
There was a vocal artist on the show (Alison Love) who sang them a song (that was written specifically for them). It was a really sweet song, but….there was one line in the song that I didn’t agree with, and I’ve been thinking about it ever since.
The song was called “When I Get to Heaven”-it talked about two brothers taking care of each other, and when they get to Heaven, Zach will be able to see Austin run, play, and speak.
But, the one line I didn’t like was….
“He’ll see him whole, healthy, happy, and free…..and he’ll see him and all he was meant to be….”

That one particular line just left me perplexed because it is implying (that) right now Austin is not living a whole, happy life and that he has to wait to get to Heaven to be “all he was meant to be.”

Why? Why does he have to wait? Maybe this is what the Lord wanted for him all along. Maybe this is how he was meant to be.

In Psalm 139: 13-16a (NLT) it says,
“You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body
and knit me together in my mother’s womb.
Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex!
Your workmanship is marvelous—how well I know it.
You watched me as I was being formed in utter seclusion,
as I was woven together in the dark of the womb.
You saw me before I was born.
Every day of my life was recorded in your book.”

Before the beginning of any of our lives the Lord knit us together….we were woven together in the womb.
I’ve watched my mom knit before-it takes times, patience, precision, and a certain form of art and creativity to make sure each stitch is done in the correct way, done at the right time, and with the right form. It’s intricate work, people. (And that’s with a pattern to follow, most of the time)…..

So, I guess my answer to anyone who asks the question, “Why did God make him like this?”would be….

God made Austin this way. He made him to be just as he is. Every detail of his life was planned ahead of time. Every special need that he has (I don’t know what they are) was planned for him. He was MEANT to be this way….

(I know the people who wrote the song didn’t mean any harm by it, and I know they were writing what they thought, in their hearts, was the best, but it’s just wrong).
Psalm 139: 13-16 (The Message) says,
“Body and soul, I am marvelously made!”
“…the days of my life all prepared before I’d even lived one day.”

God knew….
Before the beginning of time, He knew. He knew Austin would be this way. He knew any child with special needs would be the way they are. He knew, and He meant it to be that way.

The young man I referenced in the beginning (Zach) said that his brother has so much life in him, so much character, and he’s always making them laugh and teasing them.

SO MUCH LIFE!!! That’s the way he was meant to be! This is his life, exactly as God planned it from the beginning.

Jeremiah 1:5 (NIV) says,
“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you,
before you were born I set you apart….”

This young man (Austin) was set apart from the very beginning—God set him up to do great and mighty things. His great and mighty things may look different than our great and mighty things, but he is still achieving greatness. In his own way. In his own time. In his own life.

He was meant to be. Here. Now. On Earth. Alive. In Christ. He was meant to be.

Leave a Reply

