My Heartland

“Honey, I think we need to go on a vacation.”

About a month ago Paul called me from work and told me that.

Well, you don’t have to tell me twice. My bags are packed, and I’m ready to go! πŸ™‚

We did have some discussion of where we were going to go, but ultimately Illinois was the destination….(was there ever any doubt)!?

So….it was planned.

About a week ago, right before we left, my mom e-mailed me and said, “….safe travels back to your heartland.”

And she has no idea how right she was—My Heartland.

I actually didn’t take THAT many pictures on this trip because, well, we were “livin’ life” with our friends and camp family, just doing normal, everyday stuff. It was life with them, normal days, normal nights, with a few “fun” things thrown in there. (Just exactly what we needed)…..except Paul did say to me on Thursday, “Where is the vacation part where we sleep in and take naps??” πŸ™‚ We were usually up around 7:00-8:00AM because Ember’s kids were up! πŸ™‚

I cannot explain to you how much I was in my element while we were there. We were able to see all of our church family from Chillicothe Christian and our camp family–the best of both worlds!

We ended up driving, so it took us two days to get there. We could’ve done it in one day, but it’s 16 hours straight–we didn’t really want (or need) to do that, so we stretched it over two…..

Friday night (Aug. 15th) we stayed in Bentonville, AR. We have friends that live in West Fork, so we met up with them in Bentonville. After dinner we went to the first original Wal-Mart, on the square in Bentonville.

Original Wal-Mart

Original Wal-Mart

When it was time to go to bed (actually Paul was already asleep), I couldn’t find the remote in the hotel room. So….Paul turned his cell phone into a remote for me! It was really cool….

Amazing!

Amazing!

On Saturday I saw a sign on the highway for the “World’s Largest Rocking Chair,” so Paul appeased me and we went to look at it. It was pretty lame (I was hoping it would be wooden and you could actually SIT in it) but I took a picture of it anyway….

World's Largest Rocking Chair

World’s Largest Rocking Chair

IMAG0289We arrived in Chillicothe about 4:00PM and went straight to Bob and Angie’s. This was the “Welcome Sign” on their front porch! πŸ™‚

Our welcome sign from Bob and Angie

Our welcome sign from Bob and Angie

Saturday night (Aug. 16th)-MY BIRTHDAY-we went to Pizza Peel (in Lacon) with several of our friends from Chillicothe Christian Church. After dinner we went back to Bob and Angie’s and had birthday cake and sat around the campfire….

Birthday Cake "Texas Sheet Cake"

Birthday Cake
“Texas Sheet Cake”

Fire

Fire

On Sunday morning we went to church at Chillicothe Christian Church, where we were members when we lived in Illinois. Bob asked Paul to do the morning meditation in both services, so that was kind of neat. πŸ™‚ I love CCC!!

CCC

CCC

On Sunday night we went over to Mark and Gabe’s house and spent the night with them. It was so beautiful to wake up in the country–I had forgotten what that was like….

waking up in the country

waking up in the country

Monday morning Gabe and I went on a walk….they live on the edge of Lake Senachwine, and it was just beautiful!

Lake Senachwine

Lake Senachwine

And then….it was ON TO CAMP!!! We stayed at camp from Monday until Friday morning….lovin’ on Ember and Shannon’s kids, hanging out with Jim, Tyler, and Graham, and eating out way TOO MUCH!! πŸ™‚

Hannah presented me with a birthday card when I got there on Monday.

Hannah and me with my birthday card

Hannah and me with my birthday card

Β We spent some time down at the pond almost everyday–the kids love catching frogs and Sadie loves playing in the water! (Sadie is Jim/Ember’s new dog)!

Catching frogs is a favorite now!

Catching frogs is a favorite now!

Jacob loves to go fishing off the bridge….

A boy and his fishing pole

A boy and his fishing pole

Sadie near the pond

Sadie near the pond

I also spent some time up at Shannon’s house. Andi and Ethan are both in school full-time now, but we played hard when they got home!

Andi and Jeremiah

Andi and Jeremiah

Glasses Unite!!

Glasses Unite!!

On Wednesday we went with Jim/Ember and the kids to Matteissen State Park….we just love going there! It’s so beautiful. They usually have waterfalls, but this time there was no water running. It was a little strange but still beautiful.

IMG_20140820_121120

Jacob caught a HUGE toad while we were there…..

1408565575642

Paul and me at Mattiessen

IMAG0295

such a beautiful place….

Here are a couple of random pictures. This is Paul teaching the girls the art of “selfies” and posting them to IG. πŸ™‚

Hannah, Paul, and Becca

Hannah, Paul, and Becca

Here’s another one–Paul had to do bedtime books with Ethan and Andi–Hop on Pop was really long, and it was funny to watch Paul get all tongue-tied! πŸ™‚

Ethan, Paul, and Andi

Ethan, Paul, and Andi

Here is one of my favorite pictures from the trip! I am definitely printing this one and framing it!

Paul and Andi

Paul and Andi

Andi just grabbed Paul’s neck and said, “I LOVE Paul!” So, I snapped the picture with my phone….

And, here are my last pictures–my sweet sisters at camp. I am so blessed they are a part of my life. I am thankful to God everyday for them. I have such a unique relationship with each one of them, individually, but together it is wonderful!

Ember and me

Ember and me

Shannon and me

Shannon and me

The three of us together

The three of us together

And, when Jeremiah is attached to Mama’s hip, he gets in the picture, too! πŸ™‚

We had an absolutely wonderful time, and words cannot express how much we are blessed to be a part of these peoples’ lives, even living 5 states away….

Be blessed and we will see each other again soon!