Hawaii 2014

On Thursday, April 24th Marcy e-mailed me, asking me if I could come to Hawaii to “help out” with the kids….well, less than 48 hours later (on Saturday morning at 9:00AM) I was on a plane, headed to Hawaii…..I was there for 10 days (just got back on Tuesday). I’ve discovered over the years, since Marcy and Jeff adopted the kids, that going to visit them is not exactly a “vacation,” as people would dream it would be when traveling to Hawaii. Their lives go on, regardless of whether or not people are there visiting, which means if you stay with them, you wake up at 4:45AM when Kainani gets up. If you’re lucky enough to go back to sleep, you get woken again at 7:00 AM, when Kainoa gets up to go to school….you also help drop-off/pick-up kids, run errands, make dinner, help with homework, etc. So….visiting them is not exactly a “lay-on-the-beach, sip mai-tais all day” kind of vacation!

But, nonetheless I did get to do some “touristy” things while I was there, along with just livin’ life with them….

I flew stand-by, so I had no idea if I was actually going to get ON the flight, but I did….and I get to sit in the Exit Row, which means no one sat in front of me!! 🙂 Look at all that leg room!!

EXIT ROW!!

EXIT ROW!!

my view flying in....

my view flying in….

the Aloha sign at the airport

the Aloha sign at the airport

Saturday night we went to see the Harlem Globetrotters play at the Blaisdell. Sunday morning we went to watch Kainoa play basketball, as well as watch Kainani play handbells at church.

Harlem Globetrotters

Harlem Globetrotters

Sunday morning I took the dog for a walk–you know, just your normal walk down the sidewalk with the Pacific Ocean right in front of you! 🙂

Sunday morning walk with Titan

Sunday morning walk with Titan

Sunday, for lunch, I went out to eat with just Kainoa and Sunday evening I went to dinner just with Kainani….

Kainoa playing basketball

Kainoa playing basketball

Kainani and me at Chili's

Kainani and me at Chili’s

Monday I had the privilege of going with Kainani on her school field trip (to the North Shore). It was really just an opportunity for me to go to the beach for the day, which I enjoyed. They also went to the Loko Ea Fishpond in Hale’iwa

loaded up to go on the field trip

loaded up to go on the field trip

me at the Fish Pond

me at the Fish Pond

learning how to throw a net to go fishing

learning how to throw a net to go fishing

Coconut tree

Coconut tree

Service Time

Service Time

Service Time

Service Time

I also went surfing that afternoon with Jeff, which was fun! 🙂 I caught every wave–

ready to surf

ready to surf

surfing on the North Shore

surfing on the North Shore

Right after surfing we ran into Ken Bradshaw. Me, not being from Hawaii, didn’t know him, but apparently he’s a FANTASTIC famous surfer that lives in Hawaii (originally from Texas). Jeff was star-struck and wanted us to take pictures with him! 🙂

me and Ken Bradshaw

me and Ken Bradshaw

On the way home we stopped at Giovanni’s “Famous Shrimp” truck

Giovanni's

Giovanni’s

Tuesday and Wednesday we didn’t do much, except watch T.V. and run errands. On Friday I went to see “God’s Not Dead” and let me tell you, I think I’m the only person on the planet that didn’t like it–like AT ALL!!!

MV5BMjEwNDQ3MzYyOV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNDE0ODM3MDE@._V1_SX640_SY720_

Three things that bothered me about the movie:

  • In the very beginning there were too many “sub-characters” introduced, and it got confusing. And, in all honesty, NONE of those characters really even needed to be a part of the story. They just added “fluff” and to me, the movie did not increase in value or merit because of those characters. They really added nothing to the story.
  • The girlfriend is a jerk–end of story!
  • The main premise of the movie is a (Christian) college student must prove to his (Atheist) philosophy professor that “God’s Not Dead.” He has three class periods to prove God’s existence (and his fellow students are “the jury”). And what does he do, he travels all the way back in time to the Big Bang Theory and how the world was (supposedly) formed, along with trying to disprove Hawking’s theory that the universe began and was completely determined by the laws of science. WHY??!! Maybe it’s the fact that I am NOT a history lover nor a science lover, but why in the world would you use THAT to prove the God’s Not Dead?!!!

To me, I would start with the here and now….God’s Not Dead because I see him evident in my everyday life. God’s Not Dead because He continues to bless me with a beautiful family, a job, a house, and food on the table everyday. God’s Not Dead because I am continuously amazed by the little miracles He performs everyday, just little reminders that He is still alive and cares for me.

To me, I would start with the past and look forward to the future….God’s Not Dead because I am alive. There are moments in my life where I wasn’t sure if I’d make it to the next day, and yet, here I am. God’s Not Dead because I am married to Paul. I believe God orchestrated our entire relationship from the moment we met to the moment we celebrate our 8th anniversary (which is this coming Tuesday). I could’ve easily married someone else, but God chose life for me in the form of being Mrs. Tanner. God’s Not Dead because Paul and I have grown during times of great success and also felt His guiding hand through times of frustration and great loss.

God’s Not Dead because I believe it–not because I have to prove it (or disprove it) through science.

And, for goodness sake, use His WORD!! That’s what it’s there for….USE IT!!

  • And, among other things, the part at the end where the professor dies–give me a break, so cheesy!! UUggghhh…that was a “roll-my-eyes-gotta-pee-when-is-this-going-to-be-over” part of the movie!

Here’s what I got from the movie:

Atheist vs. Christians (Atheist=bad, Christians=good)–which, in a very conservative, dogmatic, one-sided Christian’s point of view could be construed as correct, but is that really the way we want the world to view Christians–in a way that is judgmental and a little arrogant (like we are better than you and categorizing all atheists into one group, those who are bullies and man-handle anyone who does not agree with them)? Yes, I do believe there is a GOD, a one, true God, but I am not going to shun others and portray them as egotistical jerks just to get my point across (which is the way, I think, Kevin Sorbo’s character was portrayed). And, I certainly don’t think an atheist would grab my clothes and threaten me, just to get his point across (which is what the professor did to the student).

There are two parts that I liked in the movie:

tumblr_n4chwiibOA1qzfjh3o1_500

  • The grandma’s “speech” about sin…..Amen, sista! It’s so true….”we wonder why we didn’t leave when we could, but by then it’s too late.”
  • The Newsboys concert at the end.

And, that’s all I have to say about that….

On Saturday I went to sailing with Jeff and Kainani, but we ended up NOT sailing because they were holding a canoe regatta at Rest Camp, where they usually sail. So…I did stand-up paddling, instead.

(But, that’s only after they got out all the boats–and had to put them right back up).

Marcy and me

Marcy and me

The sailing kids

The sailing kids

Stand-up paddling was a piece of cake-I loved it!

See the reef, in the left of this picture. I paddled ALL THE WAY AROUND that, outside  of the beach. It was great!

CAM03216

stand-up paddling

stand-up paddling

Saturday afternoon I went surfing one last time….

004My sister and I laugh because I look EXACTLY like my mom when she surfs!!! It’s crazy!! (and I learned my tankini is NOT “surf-approved”–I should’ve worn a rashguard)! 🙂

My last Hawaii sunset!

CAM03222Sunday we went to another basketball game and to church…again. Sunday afternoon my mom flew in, so it was fun to overlap with her for a day or two!

On Monday night I flew in–I was the LAST name they called to go on the plane. I was sweating bullets, praying my name would be called because I was READY to get home!! The flight home was a little bit adventurous. We had to make an emergency medical landing in Phoenix (for a man on our flight that was unconscious, came to for a bit, fainted again, and had to have oxygen). The paramedics had to come on to get him, but by that time, he was able to walk off. That delayed us by about an hour, so we didn’t land until 9:30AM on Tuesday morning!!

And I was so happy to see Paul!!

Now it’s back to work tomorrow!

 

One thought on “Hawaii 2014

  1. Pingback: Year in Review 2014 | Finding Refuge

Leave a Reply

