Mission Trip 2013-Part Four

Probably the coolest thing that happened to me while I was in Tennessee (that was completely unrelated to the Mission Trip) was I got to see Jamie….

For those of you who DON’T know….Jamie and I have “known” each other for 22 years, since I was 10 (11) years old. It all started with a Dear Soldier letter when I was in the 5th grade….

A couple of months ago Jamie told me (via e-mail) that they would be traveling around the U.S. during the summer…I jokingly asked, “Are you coming to Texas?” He said No, that they were mainly staying on the East and West coast. I asked him if he was going to be in Tennessee at all, knowing I would be there July 9th-12th. And, it was such a blessing because he (and the whole family) were going to be in Pigeon Forge on July 11th-12th,  which was only 15-20 minutes away from where I was on the Mission Trip. So, on Thursday afternoon they drove over to see me!! I was so excited!!!

The Gayton Family and me

The Gayton Family and me

Stephen (15), Elizabeth, Teddy and Christopher (9), Jamie, and me

Stephen (15), Elizabeth, Teddy and Christopher (9), Jamie, and me

Jamie and me

Jamie and me

They stayed for about an hour–thank you, God, for blessing me with Jamie and his family…..

On Thursday night we were able to really sit down together, as a group, and reflect on our time together, as three (four) different youth groups coming together. We were also able to write “encouragement notes” to each other….it was probably my favorite night of camp!

Jasmine, me, Victoria

Jasmine, me, Victoria

Lauren reading her encouragement notes

Lauren reading her encouragement notes

Colten reading his

Colten reading his

Victoria and Morgan reading their notes

Victoria and Morgan reading their notes

Clayton reading his notes

Clayton reading his notes

Brittanie reading hers

Brittanie reading hers

Brittanie reading out of God's Word

Brittanie reading out of God’s Word

Morgan and Matthew

Morgan and Matthew

Victoria and Jasmine

Victoria and Jasmine

Jasmine, Victoria, and Morgan

Jasmine, Victoria, and Morgan

On Friday morning we had one last morning of cleaning:

We survived!!

We survived!!

Paul cleaning

Paul cleaning

Jasmine sweeping

Jasmine sweeping

Walker cleaning the bathrooms

Walker cleaning the bathrooms

One more Part to go!!!

Friday night and the ride home!!!

 

One thought on “Mission Trip 2013-Part Four

  1. Pingback: O, Next to My Home, I Love You Siloam (Mission Trip 2014) | Finding Refuge

Leave a Reply

