Fourth of July Fun

I’m so far behind. We’re halfway through July, and I haven’t posted since June 29th….

(In my defense-I have been out of town for the last 12 days). I figured out that in the last 22 days I’ve only slept at my house for 6 nights!!

Anyway…Fourth of July. Every year my sister, Leslie, and her family come to Texas for 2 weeks for their “annual visit”–last year we were at camp when they were in Waco, so we didn’t get to see them. So, when I found out they were going to be at my parent’s house the week of July 4th, I decided to go to Waco. Paul didn’t go with me, but I had fun nonetheless.

Bored, waiting in the Old Navy parking lot....they didn't open until 10:00AM and I was there at 9:50AM

Bored, waiting in the Old Navy parking lot….they didn’t open until 10:00AM and I was there at 9:50AM

After going to Old Navy and getting a massage from Michelle, I made it to my mom’s house (a little bit after lunch). I immediately was summoned to take my nephews to the pool….so, we headed off to Ridgewood Country Club.

CAM00013

Drake, diving

CAM00015

Drake flipping

CAM00016

selfie–of me tanning

CAM00017

Grady working on his “splash”

CAM00023

Drake playing basketball

Drake playing basketball

Drake playing basketball

IMG_20130704_144606

Grady

CAM00028

Grady “tanning” until his brother came and knocked him over

CAM00047

Drake was WAY INTO magic, so I saw a TON of magic tricks while I was there.

CAM00048

This is how Dad welcomed me home, sleeping in his chair!!

CAM00050

Papa, Grandmama, and Drake

On Wednesday afternoon, around 5:30ish, our nephew, Alika, called me and told me that he was on his way to Grandmama’s house! Right now he is stationed in Wichita Falls, but he rented a car and drove down to Waco for the 4th. So….I “faked” being sick on Wednesday night, so we would stay home (and NOT go shopping)….for him to surprise Grandmama and Papa–and he did!

Alika and Grandma

Alika and Grandma

On Thursday, July 4th, we all went up to the Woodway Fourth of July Parade–they’ve been having it since 1986….so, of course, we had to go!

Alika wore his Air Force “uniform”–one little boy at the parade said, “Look, Mommy, that boy is DRESSED UP like a solider!” 🙂

CAM00051

Drake (13) and Alika (19)

1000842_647536196637_932954802_n

Mom and me

1012192_647536116797_1991212885_n

The “fam”
Dad, Leslie, Scott, Grady, Mom, me, Alika, and Drake

On Wednesday night Alika told me that Marcy and Kainani were flying in to surprise Mom and Dad….so, Alika, Leslie, Scott, and I all waited in anticipation for them to get there on Thrusday, after lunch. And, they sure surprised Auntie Ann and Papa!!

Marcy and Kainani

Marcy and Kainani

Every year Ridgewood Country Club has 4th of July races/contests…..at some point the boys will become to old for them, but until that day, they enjoy going! So, we all loaded up and went to Ridgewood. (Alika left shortly after Marcy and Kainani got there–he had to be back at work that night)!

Grady racing

Grady racing
Drake racing

Drake racing

Grady doing the "penny dive"

Grady doing the “penny dive”

Kainani waiting to splash

Kainani waiting to splash

Drake

Drake

Grady

Grady

Kainani

Kainani

Drake in the free throw contest

Drake in the free throw contest

IMG_20130704_144606

Grady

Grady

Marcy, me, Dad, and Leslie

Marcy, me, Dad, and Leslie

Kainani

Kainani

Marcy, me, Mom, and Leslie

Marcy, me, Mom, and Leslie

After all the swimming, we came home, rested, and then went BACK up to Ridgewood for the fireworks….

sunset at the Ridgewood fireworks

sunset at the Ridgewood fireworks

Kainani waiting for fireworks

Kainani waiting for fireworks

The kids being goofy

The kids being goofy

My mom and Kainani

My mom and Kainani

teaching my dad about "selfies"

teaching my dad about “selfies”

fireworks

fireworks

CAM00143

fireworks

CAM00140

fireworks

On Friday I was planning on leaving to come back to Giddings, but before I did, we had to go shopping! (No trip to Waco is complete without going shopping with my dad)!

"Callie" sandals

“Callie” sandals

I saw these sandals at Academy–I almost bought a pair (just b/c they had my name) but they didn’t have my size!!

After shopping I took Drake, Grady, and Kainani to Bahama Buck’s…..

Kainani (14), Drake (13), and Grady (9)

Kainani (14), Drake (13), and Grady (9)

Drake and Grady

Drake and Grady

Kainani and me

Kainani and me

Drake, Grady, and me

Drake, Grady, and me

Here are some “random pictures” from Waco….

Drake, Grady, Alika, and Kainani

Drake, Grady, Alika, and Kainani

The last time the “original” Hubbard family was together was 2 years ago, in 2011.

Summer of 2011

Summer of 2011

Summer of 2013

Summer of 2013

 

Here are the 3 girls:

me, Marcy, and Leslie Summer 2011

me, Marcy, and Leslie
Summer 2011

Here we are, 2 years later:

 

Leslie, me, and Marcy

Leslie, me, and Marcy
Summer of 2013

 

I enjoyed my time in Waco….I got back to Giddings at 9:00PM on Friday night, just in time to do laundry and pack for Mission Trip!

Leave a Reply

