Keeping Waco Wacky

On Friday night we spontaneously decided to go to Waco on Saturday….

So….after Food Pantry on Saturday, off we went! 🙂 Walker went with us, and we had a great time!

We got there about 11:15. I went to lunch with the Derrick’s (my favorite family in Waco) and Paul and Walker went to Vitek’s and got a GutPak (if you’re from Waco, you know it’s “heaven” in a styrofoam box…..

After lunch we had a few minutes to kill before we had to meet Paul’s parents and sister at the zoo, so we took Walker over to Baylor. We went over and saw Joy and Lady (and, again, if you are from Waco, you know they are)!

It was so funny because when we walked up to the Pit we saw 2-3 little girls. Their mom’s were pointing out the bears saying, “Look, do you see the bear? See the bear right there?” Well, instead the girls squealed, “Look, a squirrel!!!” And they ran off and chased the squirrel….  🙂

Joy (or Lady)--I'm not sure which one it is....

Joy (or Lady)–I’m not sure which one it is….

(So much for the Baylor Bears–they can’t hold a candle to an active squirrel),….

Paul and me at the bear pit at Baylor

Paul and me at the bear pit at Baylor

After lunch and hanging out at Baylor for a few minutes we met Paul’s parents and sister (along with the Derrick’s) at the zoo…..

Walker and Paul at the zoo

Walker and Paul at the zoo

my new favorite picture of Paul

my new favorite picture of Paul

There was a "diver" in the fish tank....

There was a “diver” in the fish tank….

Lindsey and Lila at the zoo

Lindsey and Lila at the zoo

I am very proud of Walker because he NEVER lets me take pictures of him….so, thank you, Walker!

2013-05-25 14.04.31

No smile from Walker in this one…..

I love Walker's smile in this picture

I love Walker’s smile in this picture

 

this picture just makes me laugh

this picture just makes me laugh

After the zoo (we spent 3 hours there) we went to Mardel (we always go to Mardel if we’re in Waco or Abilene) and then went to Quaker Steak for dinner. I’d never been there before. It was alright–nothing “out of this world” but good. Walker LOVED his chicken wings–he was having a little “love affair” with his food!!

Quaker Steak and Lube

Quaker Steak and Lube

After Quaker Steak we went over to 3 Spoons for dessert! 🙂 And to quote Walker: “You can learn a lot about a person based on what the put in their Fro-Yo!”

3 Spoons for dessert!

3 Spoons for dessert!

We finally headed home and got home around 8:00PM last night….it was a LONG, FUN day!!

Leave a Reply

