Just a little Valentine Survey…..

How long have you and your significant other been together?

Met: August 19, 2005
Starting Dating: September 5, 2005

Here’s our very 1st picture together

230708_503907719257_9065_n(Sorry it’s tiny)…..

How did you meet?

Paul and I both started Logsdon Seminary in August 2005. We both had the same advisor, Dr. Lyle. Dr. Lyle took us to Java City for coffee on the day of New Student Orientation…..and the rest is history!

If married, how long have you been married?

6 years, 9 months

If you are married, where did you get married? Big or small wedding?

We got married in Abilene, Texas, at Pioneer Drive Baptist Church. We probably had about 100-120 people there….I really don’t even remember…..

leaving-4Here we are leaving as Mr. and Mrs. Paul Tanner!

Do you have any nicknames that you call one another?

I usually call Paul Honey Bunny or Babe. He calls me Babe or Honey.

Name 3 things you love most about your honey:

1. He always knows the right thing to say, even if it’s not exactly what I want to hear at the time!
2. He is very level-headed and does not get easily rattled.
3. He makes me smile and laugh on a regular basis, and makes sure that I never take life too seriously.

Tell us how he proposed?

We picked out an engagement ring/wedding ring back in October of 2005 (after a month of dating) but Paul didn’t propose until November 24th, Thanksgiving Day. Because Paul lived in the dorm while we were dating, I actually kept the ring(s) at my apartment (just in case). So, in actuality, I guess I could’ve worn the ring without Paul knowing (except for the fact that we saw each other every day at school)—but, I didn’t.

When Paul and I knew we were going to get engaged, I told him the one thing I wanted him to do was to ask my dad for his “blessing” (not his PERMISSION, but his BLESSING) for us to get married.

So….the Thanksgiving holidays rolled around and we decide to split the time between my parents and his family.

On Wednesday, November 23rd, Paul and I went to Waco to see my parents. Right before we were leaving (to go to Hamilton to see his parents) Paul talked to my dad (in the hallway next to the bathroom) and (I guess) asked for his blessing (I don’t really know what he said). But, I do know what my dad said….NO!

But, needless to say, Paul asked me anyway….

The next morning, on Thanksgiving morning, Paul proposed. You can read about it here.

Is he a flowers and teddy bear kind of guy for v-day, or strawberries, champagne, and rose petals?

Neither, really. I think when we were first married he gave me a teddy bear (it still sits on our bed), but since then, we haven’t exchanged gifts….neither of us care much about “gifts” (it’s not our love language) so it doesn’t bother me at all to NOT get something.

In fact, this year, I’m not even home….I’m in Waco on Valentine’s Day.

Are you a sunset dinner on the beach kind of girl, or pop a movie in and relax on the couch?

Uuummmm…..probably a “pop in a movie and relax on the couch” kind of girl. Honestly, I’m not really either. I prefer a road trip and just going out to eat.
Tell us one thing you’d like to do with your significant other one day. If you could do anything? Go anywhere?

Go on an Alaskan cruise!

Tell us what you plan to do today, on this Valentine’s Day.

We’re not together. I’m staying with a friend in Waco, and I guess, Paul’s hanging out at home by himself.

Are you asking for anything this Valentine’s day?

No.

Give us one piece of advice for keeping a relationship strong and full of love.

Laugh a lot. Pray a lot. Say “I love you,” “I’m sorry,” and “I forgive you” as often as possible.

Show us a picture of what love means to you:

DSC05684

Watching Paul doing what he loves!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

