Christmas 2012

This is our first Christmas to be back in Texas since 2008. We moved to Illinois in February 2009, so we were there (in Illinois) for the last 3 years…..it was nice to be back close to family….

On Sunday we went to Waco to see my parents….

We saw “The Grinch” while were there!!!

Meet "The Grinch" himself

Meet “The Grinch” himself

Mom's tree

Mom’s tree

“Santa” still comes to my mom’s house to visit. But, since we were going to be there a day early, “Santa” had to come to her house on Christmas EVE morning, not Christmas Day. We even heard his sleigh bells “ringing” down the hall on Christmas Eve morning…..(my mom was ringing them to get us up)!!

Paul opening up "Santa" gifts on Christmas Eve morning

Paul opening up “Santa” gifts on Christmas Eve morning

We got a luggage set from "Santa"

We got a luggage set from “Santa”

We got stocking stuffers, as well.

We got stocking stuffers, as well.

me and my "loot"

me and my “loot”

My dad does the crossword puzzle everyday, and Christmas Eve was no different!

Dad working the crossword puzzle on Christmas Eve morning

Dad working the crossword puzzle on Christmas Eve morning

I asked my mom to take our picture. She said, “That’s fine, but do a different pose. You are always standing right beside him. Do something different this time.”

So we did.

 

a "different" pose

a “different” pose

Attempt #2

Paul and me

Paul and me

Attempt #3:

another pose

another pose

And now, my parents.

Mom and me

Mom and me

Mom and Dad

Mom and Dad

We ate a semi-late breakfast (around 9:00) so we all got cleaned up and then opened presents before lunch.

me and a couple of my presents

me and a couple of my presents

On Christmas Eve EVE my dad, Paul, and I all went to the mall to go shopping. Dad wanted to buy my mom a new pajama set. He bought some at JCP’s. As we were leaving he said, “Oh shoot, I should’ve gotten a box; we don’t have any.”

So, when we got home, Dad took the cereal out of the box and used the box as a wrapping box. When mom was finished opening her present, dad took it back and put it back in the pantry with the cereal inside!!

the "box"

the “box”

After having lunch with my parents and hanging out for awhile, we drove over to Hamilton to see Paul’s parents and Susan.

Paul and his "grinch face" lovin' on a "singing Santa"

Paul and his “grinch face” lovin’ on a “singing Santa”

We drove over to “Uncle” Jake and “Aunt” Dorothy’s for Christmas Eve dinner. (Actually Jake and Dorothy’s is a cafe in Stephenville that we try to go to everytime we are in Hamilton). It’s a family favorite!

Susan, Paul, and me

Susan, Paul, and me

Paul "modeling" Susan's hat

Paul “modeling” Susan’s hat

When we got home, Mike gave us our Christmas present. It is a “new to us” Keurig machine!! It was a Goodwill find for Mike. He tested it out all week, and it works great! So, we now have a Keurig!!

our "new to us" Keurig

our “new to us” Keurig

Christmas morning we were supposed to drive over to Graham, northwest of Ft. Worth. Well, the weather was calling for sleet, ice, and rain with temperatures dropping in the 20’s all day long. So, we decided not to go….we just spent the day in Hamilton. It was nice; I enjoyed it!!

on Christmas morning

on Christmas morning

We got a new game from my parents called The Logos Game. It’s a really fun game; we played it twice while we were in Hamilton!

our new game

our new game

playing Logos

playing Logos

David, Paul’s brother, brought “a friend” with him to Christmas this year. Her name is Chris. It was the first time anybody had ever heard anything about her or had ever met her…..she was nice. I think she fit in pretty well with Paul’s family.

Chris and David

Chris and David

Susan

Susan

playing Logos

playing Logos

And, here’s David’s attempt at a smile!

Chris and David

Chris and David

We left Hamilton about 4:00 and stopped in Temple on the way home for dinner. We ate at Applebee’s. It was crazy, crowded!!! Good, but crowded!!

We got home (back to Giddings) about 8:00….

We had a very Merry Christmas!!

One thought on “Christmas 2012

  1. Pingback: 2012 in Review | Finding Refuge

Leave a Reply

