“Like” (with a thumb’s up)

Oh my goodness….can I tell you how glad I am that Facebook*, Instagram*, Twitter*, and all the other stuff was NOT around when I was younger. I struggled enough with self-image, lack of self-esteem, and the normal teenage problems without having to worry about whether or not people “liked” me…..on FB, Instagram*, or Twitter*

Last night, there were 4 teenage girls at my apartment. All of them were playing on their phones, looking at their Instagram* pictures and 3 of them were complaining….

“I can’t believe I only got 4 ‘likes’ on that picture.”

“My dog is cuter than that; why didn’t more people ‘like’ it?!”

“_____, why didn’t you ‘like’ my picture?!”

“I’ll ‘like’ my own picture, just so people will think more people ‘like’ me.”

Yes, people, this is what is going on daily in our teenager’s lives……

Sickening…..I think. I was almost to the point last night of shutting everything down on my computer and phone i.e. texting and Facebook* just because I was so disgusted with the conversation I was hearing from them….

Did you know that you can BUY “likes” on Instagram*, so people will think you have more friends than you really do (because according to this article, your friendship and worth is valued on how many “likes” you have on Instagram*)?

The article is here.

I don’t have a problem with the new “social networks” that are out there (although I’m way behind the times and have only started texting within the last 2 weeks), but…..there’s definitely a problem with them when you, as a person, begin to see your worth and your value in how many “likes” you have on FB, Instagram*, etc.

And, before the girls come back at me and say, “Oh, Callie, we’re just kidding!” (as they often do when I bring anything up that has to do with the way they act or what they say)—I understand that you might “be kidding…” but at some point, you begin to believe that which you say, whether or not you mean to or not.

“All that we are is the result of what we have thought. The mind is everything. What we think, we become.” -Buddha.

So, please, as adult leaders/mentors/ministers/friends, we need to find a way to communicate to the younger generation that they are LIKED LOVED by, first and foremost, the Lord, but also by those who truly value them because of who they are, not because of how many “likes” they have on social media……

Lord, please let our younger generation grow to understand that value and worth come from You, not from anyone or anything else. Amen.

“You are always a valuable, worthwhile human being, not because anybody says so, not because you’re successful, not because you make a lot of money, but because you decide to believe it and for no other reason.” -Dr. Wayne Dyer

“Days will come when you don’t have the strength

And all you hear is you’re not worth anything

Wondering if you ever could be loved

And if they truly saw your heart they’d see too much
You’re beautiful, You’re beautiful

You are made for so much more than all of this

You’re beautiful, You’re beautiful

You are treasured, You are sacred, You are His

You’re beautiful”

Beautiful by Mercy Me

Obviously this is on my heart often…..please keep it in your prayers.

One thought on ““Like” (with a thumb’s up)

  1. Pingback: I’m Happy All The Time??? and Being a “Good Example” | Finding Refuge

Leave a Reply

