A Look Back….Vacation Packing 101

Paul and I are leaving on Sunday for vacation….so, I thought I would re-visit a blog post that I wrote when we went on vacation back in 2011.

Enjoy!

(Originally this post was written in January 2011)….

Here’s how I pack:

About a week before leaving, I begin to think about what I’m going to be doing and the people I am going to be seeing while we are gone.

About five days before leaving, I start thinking about what I’m going to wear while I’m doing the things I am going to be doing and seeing the people I am going to be seeing.

About four days before leaving, I start doing laundry to make sure those clothes I am going to be wearing while doing the things I am going to be doing and seeing the people I am going to be seeing are clean.

About three days before leaving, I think about the clothes I can wear for the next three days that I don’t want to wear while on vacation when I will be wearing what I want to wear while doing the things I am going to be doing and seeing the people I am going to be seeing.

About two days before the trip, I fold and put up the clothes that I washed a couple of days ago because I know I will have to pick through and pack the clothes I want to wear while I’m doing the things I am going to be doing and seeing the people I am going to be seeing while wearing the clothes that I haven’t worn for the past three days because those are now dirty and I’m not doing laundry again before we leave.

About a day before we leave, I sort through my clothes (in my mind) and figure out what can be worn twice, based on the idea that I am going to be in four different cities doing the things I am going to be doing and seeing the people I am going to be seeing and they won’t know that I wore the same outfit twice in one week.  During this same day (about a day before) I also wear a pair of jeans that I want to wear on Saturday (on the plane) as to stretch them out, so they will not be uncomfortable while we sit in a small, cramped place for two hours before getting to our destination where I will do the things I am going to be doing while seeing the people I want to see.

The night before we leave (which is tonight) I will pack the clothes I want to wear so I can do the things I want to do and see the people I want to see for 9 days, knowing I can wear the same outfit at least twice and that I have to share a suitcase with Paul.

TRUST ME, I’ve gotten a lot better….all through junior high and high school I used to make a list (literally, on paper) of everything I was going to wear each day, even down to the underwear.  TRUST ME, this is progress.

Here’s how Paul packs:

Throw some clothes in a bag and see if the zipper will close.

Leave a Reply

