Mrs. Fix-It

I’ve been “drafting” this post for about a week…..

I have about three or four different posts rattling around in my head. I want to write about this. I want to write about that. I come up with an idea–and then it leaves. I get ready to write about something–and then I can’t put it into words. So, this post may be a jumbled mess, but I’ll write it anyway.

I am a “fixer.” I have the need…I have the desire…I have the want…I have the drive to fix things. If it’s broken, fix it. It’s that simple. No explanation needed. Just deal with it, do it your way (this will come up later), and go on…..

Did you know that if you google (when did that become a verb, by the way?–just google it) “Mr Fix-It” you will find pages and pages of advertisements that scream, “We Can Fix It!”

  • Major home Appliance repair
  • Automatically diagnose and repair common software problems in Windows, Internet Explorer or other Microsoft products
  • General contracting, repair, remodeling, new construction and professional handyman services.
  • provides gutter protection…bathroom remodeling…room additions…handyman services
  • is a full-service, small engine and boat motor repair center.

Everything from cars, to computers, to houses, to boats….you can find just about anybody who can “fix” anything….

I think I’ll start advertising on the internet.

“Mrs. Fix-It”–you’ve got a problem with attitude, you’ve got a problem with sass, you’ve got a problem with disrespect….she can fix it!!

It may not be done the way you want it, but she can do it!! 🙂 No doubt.

Well, I think I can do it. I think I can fix-it. But….sometimes broken things CANNOT be fixed.

My heart is broken for the youth of today. The more I substitute in the schools, the more my heart breaks for this generation.

Kids today are just down right MEAN. There is no other way around it, no other way to say it, no other way to describe it. They are MEAN.

My heart breaks because I can’t make them be kind. I can’t fix-it, so they will be kind. Apparently it’s something I’ve been wrestling with over and over because I KEEP writing about it…..

There’s an old children’s show (that is still on PBS, I think) called Bob the Builder. Well, the “catch phrase” song for that show is:

Bob the builder
Can we fix it?
Bob the builder
Yes we can!

Sometimes I think that’s the motto I try to use when working with youth.

“Can I fix it? Yes, I can!”

(But, 90% of the time, I can’t fix it….and yet I keep trying over and over….as if one day, it’ll finally “click” and the kids will just start doing everything I tell them all the time—Ha,Ha)!!

I want to fix the meanness.

I want to fix the rudeness.

I want to fix the crudeness.

I want to fix the laughter (as far as making fun of other people).

I want to fix the taunting.

I want to fix the verbal abuse.

I just want to fix-it. But, I can’t.

Kindness is a choice. It is a choice to live with that which not only brings joy to those you are kind to but also brings out the best in yourself when you are capable of putting down your walls and truly being human.

Kindness is a manner. A learned behavior. Helping children develop good manners involves having thoughtful and considerate parents, which many of the youth today do not have. They merely have “big people” that live in their house (thank you, Cindy), not adults. Which means, being a substitute teacher and a youth minister’s wife, is harder because our job description (beyond what is on the job requirement statement) is harder. 

Manners cannot be taught in the same way as history or geography can-(learning by rote). It is something that is built up over a period of time by feeding the children in small manageable doses. As kids grow up and as they pass through certain developmental stages, hopefully (and bathed with a lot prayer) their understanding of kindness (and overall, general manners) increases. But, unfortunately in this generation, I just don’t see it. Of course, being in school makes it ten times harder….kids have to sort out for themselves the difference between enthusiasm, exuberance and rudeness.

And, unfortunately, rudeness seems to be more prevalent.

This morning in Sunday School we talked about compassion. Is everybody born with compassion or is it a learned behavior?

I believe that compassion is something that everyone is born with, but I also think it has to be nurtured. It has be modeled. It has to be taught.

I just want to “fix” the meanness…..but, instead, I just have to model kindness.

I just want to “fix” the rudeness….but, instead, I just have to model compassion.

I just want to “fix” the kindness….but, instead, I just have to model it.

I just want to “fix” the brokenness….but, instead, I just have to pray over it and slowly help put the puzzle pieces back together, one at a time.

I have to show compassion. Even when it’s hard. Even when it’s easier to “walk on the other side,” (Luke 10:25-37, esp. 31-32) I have to wait, be patient, and let God do all the work. And, do it HIS way, not my way….

Leave a Reply

