Anyway….

There’s no doubt that I love to write. There’s also no doubt that I have a burden for the youth in our church. So, therefore, I write about my burdens. Just the other day in Sunday School we were talking about the word burden and exactly what it meant. Usually, when I think of a burden I give it a negative connotation, i.e. a heavy, unfathomable load, a cumbersome load, a worry/bother.
 
 
Webster’s defines burden as:
1.) something that is carried : load
2.) duty, responsibility
3.) something oppressive or worrisome
4.) the bearing of a load —usually used in the phrase beast of burden
5.) capacity for carrying cargo <a ship of a hundred tons burden>
 
 
So, it certainly doesn’t have to be a negative thing…..
Carrying a burden (as in a load) doesn’t necessarily mean it’s a burdensome load
Carrying a duty or responsibility doesn’t necessarily mean the responsibility is too much or not desired
So, my burden for the youth of our church and of our community is not a bad thing, just as long as I don’t let it become an oppressive burden.
 
 
My greatest prayer for the youth of our church and our community is that they would REPRESENT HIM WELL (which I’ve written about before).
My second greatest prayer for the youth of our church and our community is that they would BE KIND (which I also wrote about last week).
My third greatest prayer for the youth of our church and our community is that they would LOVE, NO MATTER THE COST OR THE REWARD.
 
 
This morning during Sunday School we talked about “rollin’ up our sleeves” and being good representatives of Christ.
For different people it means different things.
For me, I enjoy working at the Food Pantry.
For Beth, she enjoys working with Operation Christmas Child.
For Allen, he enjoys walking down the hall at work and smiling and speaking to someone in the hallway,who may or may not need that particular smile at that exact moment.
 
It’s different for every person. And it should be. We should never be “cookie cutter” Christians.
 
 
I found this quote/saying by Mother Teresa and I like it–
  • People are often unreasonable, irrational, and self-centered. Forgive them anyway.
  • If you are kind, people may accuse you of selfish, ulterior motives. Be kind anyway.
  • (If you are successful, you will win some unfaithful friends and some genuine enemies. Succeed anyway).
  • If you are honest and sincere people may deceive you. Be honest and sincere anyway.
  • (What you spend years creating, others could destroy overnight. Create anyway).
  • If you find serenity and happiness, some may be jealous. Be happy anyway. (I might even change that to Be JOYFUL)!
  • The good you do today, will often be forgotten. Do good anyway.
  • (Give the best you have, and it will never be enough. Give your best anyway).

In the final analysis, it is between you and God. It was never between you and them anyway.

– Mother Teresa

 
It’s between you and God. Your attitude, your lifestyle, your “way of life,” can be and ALWAYS should be about God, not about yourself.
 
Please pray with me.
Our kids need Jesus.
They need to feel Jesus.
They need to know Jesus.
They need to interact with Jesus.
They need to have a deep yearning for Jesus.
They need to have such a deep (on fire) desire for Jesus, that it just spills over in everything they do.
People need to see Jesus in and through them in every aspect of their lives.
 
 
I want them to love themselves.
I want them to love others.
I want them to respect themselves.
I want them to respect others.
 
Most of all, I want them be kind…..anyway, regardless of the circumstances and regardless of how they were treated.
 
Working with the youth in Illinois this was their greatest struggle…..they would treat others the way they were treated….even though it might’ve been unkind, rude, or even downright ugly….
 
Instead, I want our youth to always know, remember, and be reminded of that they should treat people they way they WANT to be treated, regardless of how they WERE treated. It’s a super, hard lesson to learn…..but I pray that one day they will find passion and compassion for others—and believe me, when they do, it will totally ROCK THEIR WORLD!!
 
My prayers are never-ending….some days I just fall before the throne of Jesus, begging Him to change them, but knowing all the while that He can’t change them….they have to want to change and adopt the attitudes of forgiveness, love, and compassion. And until they do, my prayers are raised, once again.
 
 
(Sorry, the spacing is all messed up, and I can’t seem to change it)
One thought on “Anyway….

  1. Pingback: Mrs. Fix-It « Finding Refuge

Leave a Reply

