Birthday Weekend

On Thursday morning Paul asked me what we were doing this weekend.

Nothing, I replied.

In response to me saying “nothing” he planned a very busy 24 hours!

We left around 2:45 on Friday afternoon and drove to Lampasas. The Giddings football team had scrimmages Friday there, so we went to watch.

Paul supporting the Buffs!

Paul has a Giddings shirt, but I don’t have one….yet! I have to remedy that soon (football starts on August 31st)….

Doesn’t everyone have a sno-cone at a football scrimmage!?

We don’t know a lot of the boys who play football, but we do know two of the boys (pretty well) b/c they are members of our church. Their dad, Chris, is the Athletic Director. The Jones family is very sweet, and we look forward to getting to know them more, as football season starts!

Tyler (he’s a junior at GHS)

Kyle warming up (he’s a ninth grader)

Kyle (he’s the quarterback on the Freshman team)

Tyler playing quarterback

I love this picture of Chris and Kyle walking together—I’m sure Chris is giving Kyle wonderful advice!

After the game was called b/c of a CRAZY lightning show and storm (with torrential downpour), we drove to Hamilton to see Paul’s parents. I haven’t been to his mom’s house in 3 years (since before we moved to Illinois), so it was nice to see the house again.

We stayed up way too late, as they reminisced about old football times (Mike, Paul’s dad, was a H.S. football coach). Then, this morning, we drove over to Stephenville and ate at Jake and Dorothy’s.

Paul talks about Jake and Dorothy as if they are relatives. (I think he wishes they really were)….

Jake and Dorothy’s…..

They are famous for their Chicken Fried Steak and Waffle Fries…..it was pretty good, I do have to admit (I’ve been a couple of times before)….

After going back to Hamilton we took our obligatory Saturday afternoon nap at his mom’s house and then headed to Georgetown. I have to say that I am glad we do not live in Georgetown–we would be BROKE!! They have a great shopping area that has tons of store. This is tax*-free week*end in Texas, so we braved the stores. Because we didn’t get there until 5:00, the crowds were not bad AT ALL!

We went to Old Navy and Target….After shopping we went to eat at Chick-Fil-A!

We got home around 8:15 tonight–it was a wonderful little trip to continue my birthday celebration!

And….today is August 18th. Exactly 7 years ago today, Paul and I met for the first time!! 🙂 I love you, Paul.

Leave a Reply

