Hawaii 2012

I just got back from Hawaii—

Aloha sign at Honolulu International Airport

I’ll probably do 3-4 posts about Hawaii….I’ve got about 70 pictures, so I’ll have to weed through them….

Something I quickly learned, as soon as I got there, was that living in Hawaii is totally different than visiting Hawaii. I’ve only been to Hawaii once since Marcy and Jeff adopted their kids, so living life with them was new to me during this trip….

the view from Marcy’s lanai

the view from Marcy’s lanai

The first 3-4 days I was there I helped take kids to school, run errands, take kids to the dentist, baby-sit, and clean….life goes on for my sister and her kids, regardless of whether or not family is there visiting.

view from Kamehameha schools (where my niece and nephew go to school)

view from Kamehameha schools

Luckily, I was able to get in a small amount of time on the beach on Friday afternoon.

ready to go to the beach (my sister’s house in the background)

Kainoa in the van, ready to go to the beach

beach on the Leeward side of Oahu

my feet in the Pacific Ocean

Kainoa took my picture

laying out on the beach

Kainoa flying a kite

Kainoa flying his kite

the mountains behind Waianae (where my sister lives)

On Friday night/Saturday I kept Kainoa….”when the cat’s away, the mouse will play…”

Kainoa playing video games

Once Saturday afternoon rolled around we started the celebration for Alika’s graduation….he is our 18 year old nephew who graduated from Kamehameha schools on Sunday, the 27th.

(That’ll be in the next post)….

 

2 thoughts on “Hawaii 2012

  1. Pingback: More Pictures of Hawaii « Finding Refuge

  2. Pingback: 2012 in Review | Finding Refuge

Leave a Reply

