Smithville 10K

***UPDATED

This morning I drove over to Smithville (about 30 minutes away) and did the BunRun for the Cure. It’s a “fun run” that was created 3 years ago by a girl who lives in Smithville. She started it as a way to give money to Komen Austin. It’s not affiliated with Komen, but all the proceeds go towards Komen, which is nice.

This is the 1st year they’ve had the option of doing a 10K (the past two years, they’ve just done a 5K walk/run). So, if you wanted to do the 10K, you just ran the course twice.

It was a very humbling experience for me….

The last 10K I did I completed it in 1:05:33. You can read about that one here.

This one I did in 1:08:56. Three minutes doesn’t seem like that much, but in running, it’s HUGE!

I told Paul there was a choice: you could do the 5K or the 10K….so most of the “slower” runners stopped after the 5K….so the 10K was really stacked with the “good runners” I was at the bottom of the barrel when it came to running the 10K–it was humbling because I was 5th from last…..definitely different from the 1st 10K I did. But, I finished without stopping, so I guess I did what I set out to do (although I did want to be beat my time from last month)….

Oh, well… The course was also a little difficult b/c it was not “straight”–it was a lot of “run one block, turn, run two blocks, turn, run one block, turn, run straight, turn” so it was a lot of “block running” which made me almost nauseous… I was listening to a podcast while I was running and they were talking about Easter candy and all their favorite kinds of candy…I finally had to stop listening to that podcast b/c it was making my stomach hurt listening to them talk about chocolate and peanut butter (my favorite)!! 🙂

Here’s me “in action”

Here’s me at the end! (Please excuse the tornado that went through my hair)!!

1:08:56

a really cute sign the girl made (she had her daughter's picture blown up next to it)

And, here’s my celebration drink!

A slurpee from 7-Eleven!

Now, excuse me, but I have to go wash the sand and the grit off–it was SUPER WINDY today and I have dirt everywhere…..

One thought on “Smithville 10K

  1. Pingback: BunRun for the Cure | Finding Refuge

Leave a Reply

