The Time Has Come

It is 10:45PM on Wednesday night. I am alone. It is quiet. I am fully aware of the sounds around me. The sounds of coyotes howling in the night. The sounds of owls hooting in the distance. The sounds of the trailer walls creaking and almost swaying with the wind. The sounds of critters crawling under our vents.

It is 10:45PM on Wednesday night. I am alone. It is quiet. I am fully aware of the things I see around me. It is pitch black outside. Not a street light or a lamp post anywhere. I see boxes surrounding me, stacked 5 and 6 high stretching and reaching for the ceiling. I see our floor littered with dirty clothes, shoes, dirt, mud, boxes, and bags.

It is 10:45PM on Wednesday night. I am alone. It is quiet. I am fully aware of the feelings that I have. I said my first goodbye today to a good friend. I will not see her again before we leave. It was tender and sweet. I will miss seeing her little boy grow up. Maybe one day I will come visit again. I have feelings of anxiousness, excitement, impatience, nervousness, but also a peace that feels my soul.

The time as come for transition. The time has come to start a new chapter in our lives. The time has come. And I am ready.

It is 10:45PM on Wednesday night. This same time next week I will be in our new apartment. (Hopefully I will not be alone). And I have a feeling it won’t be quiet. I can already hear the sounds of the street. Cars driving in the parking lot. People talking outside of our door. Music coming from above us. It will not be quiet; it will be sounds of the city.

It is 10:45PM on Wednesday night. This same time next week I will be in our new apartment. (Hopefully I will not be alone).  I have a feeling I will be able to see a lot more. I can already see street lights coming through our windows. Parking lot lights blinding me. Neighborhood houses having porch lights on. It will not be dark; it will lights of the city.

It is 10:45PM on Wednesday night. This same time next week I will be in our new apartment. (Hopefully I will not be alone). I have a feeling I will be experiencing sadness. Of leaving the ones behind that I love so dear. Of missing the comfort and being afraid of the unknown. Of feeling lost in the a new city, a little overwhelmed by the new. It will not be familiar; but it will be home.

The time as come for transition. The time has come to start a new chapter in our lives. The time has come. And I am ready.

Leave a Reply

