Christmas 2011

This was our first Christmas without family (beyond just the two of us)…

We moved here in February of 2009, right after our last Christmas in Texas….

For Christmas of 2009 we went to Michigan to be with my sister, Leslie, and her family.

Paul, me, our nephews, Drake and Grady

For Christmas of 2010, my parents drove up to Illinois and spent Christmas with us.

me, my mom and dad

But, for this Christmas, we are on our own.

My sister, Leslie, wrote about their Christmas here. I have to agree with her. I miss family, too. I had a complete meltdown last night, missing my mom. It’s strange. I’m not sure I like being an adult: growing up, being away from family. In the year’s past I always thought (to myself), “Why can’t people be with their families on Christmas? I don’t understand why it’s so hard…why can’t they just travel at Christmas? Who would want to be alone?” And, now I am that person. (Or we are, I should say).

Paul asked me last night why we didn’t go to Texas for Christmas (I guess we could’ve if we would’ve planned ahead). I told him that I thought I didn’t need it (because I had gone to Texas three times already this year and I didn’t need to go to again).  But, maybe I did.

However, it’s now 2:00 on Christmas Day and it’s a little late to go now. (I have to be at work at 8:00 in the morning). So, instead, Paul and I were here, just our own little family of two.

We did have a nice Christmas celebration and will continue a little bit more tonight when we go to a friend’s house for dinner.

Last night we went to our Christmas Eve service at church. I sang a solo (What Child is This?) and Paul ran the audio/visual.

Christmas Eve Service 2011

We came home from church and watched Netflix together, trying to stay up until 11:00 to go let the dog out next door. Yep, you read right. We have inherited a dog and a cat for the weekend. And, then we came home and went to bed.

Because we are pet sitting, I had to get up at 6:45AM this morning and let the dog out (that’s another reason why Paul and I don’t have kids–6:45AM in the MORNING–I don’t get up that early, and even if I do, I don’t walk a dog at 6:45AM)! Anyway, so I was up and back home by 7:15AM this morning. I woke up Paul when I came home (just by crawling back into bed with my cold feet). So, since we were both awake we went ahead and opened presents. When Paul went to Texas a couple of weeks ago he met my mom and dad for lunch one day and exchanged presents (so she wouldn’t have to mail our presents). Paul and I don’t exchange present with each other, so everything we were opening were from my parents and both of my sisters.

Paul in his new pajama pants

 

Paul in his new hat and with his new beard trimmer

 

me with a new hand mixer and a new movie (wearing my scarf from my dad)

We were blessed with a bunch of new, fun things!

Since we opened gifts so early, we went back to bed! Our church only had one service today, so we didn’t have to be at church until 9:30 (as opposed to our normal 7:45)! We went to church this morning and then came home and had leftover stew (from Friday) for lunch.

Christmas morning 2011

We are now at home, waiting to go to a friend’s house for dinner. Paul is out walking the dog and I’m watching Miracle on 34th street!

We hope you had a blessed Christmas celebration today, regardless of where you are or who you are with!

Merry Christmas!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

