Three New Recipes

I have three new recipes I tried today (I only worked for 3 hours today, so I had lots of time at home this afternoon)….

#1 is my favorite!!

1.)  Homemade Salsa

Here’s where I found the original recipe.  But, I did tweak it a little bit for our own tasting….

Ingredients:

  • 1 can diced tomatoes (fire-roasted), drained
  • 1 can stewed tomatoes, drained
  • 2 cans Original Ro-Tel, drained
  • 1 can green chiles, drained
  • 1 clove of garlic, crushed
  • 3 green onions, chopped
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 3-4 pinches of salt
  • 1 tsp. of lemon juice

Combine all ingredients (except 2 cans of Ro-Tel) in a food processor or blender

Pulse until well-blended

Transfer to bowl, add Ro-Tel and YOU’RE DONE!!

It’s yummy!!

2.)  Holiday Candy Cookies

Here’s where I found the original recipe.  This is actually a “Cookie in a Jar” recipe, but I just made them….

Ingredients

  • 1 1/3 cups flour
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 cup M&Ms
  • 1 cup regular oats
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp.Kosher salt (or 1/4 tsp table salt)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 cup melted butter
  • I also added 1 cup of mini butterscotch chips

Instructions

Put all dry ingredients together in a bowl.  Add 1 egg, 1/2 cup melted butter, and 1 teaspoon vanilla.  Mix well.

Drop by 2 tablespoons on greased cookie sheet and bake at 350 degrees for 10-12 minutes.

3.)  Baked Apples

I don’t know where I got this recipe.  I forgot to bookmark it, and now I can’t find it again.

 

Ingredients:

  • 4 or 5 apples (or however many you need)
  • 3/4 cup of brown sugar
  • 2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 cup of walnuts {optional}
  • 3 tsp. of oatmeal {optional}

I didn’t use walnuts, but I did use oatmeal (it was Apple Cinnamon Instant Oatmeal-just the dry mix)

Instructions:

Core 4 or 5 apples (however many you need)

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl.

Inside the core of the apple, put some butter (I didn’t measure) and then “spoon” the dry ingredients inside the apple (filling the hole where the core was)

Put about 1/2 cup of water (or apple juice, if you have some) in the bottom of a baking dish and place apples in baking dish

Cook covered with foil on 350 for 30 minutes

Uncover and cook for 15 more minutes

You can serve this as a dessert with ice cream or just as a side dish with dinner

I used Golden Delicious Apples, but it doesn’t really matter what kind of apple you use

I had about a snack size bag worth of dry ingredients leftover b/c I only made 2 apples, so I’ll just save it for next time.  Or throw it in hot oatmeal one morning, I guess.

 

And, just in case you’re wondering….

We did have dinner tonight….not just salsa, cookies, and apples.  I made tacos for dinner, so the salsa was a great “extra” to have!!

Leave a Reply

