Weight Watchers

I’ve debated for awhile on whether or not I wanted to “share with the world” my journey of trying to lose weight, but I figured, what the heck, it’s my life and my blog.  So, here it goes….

Paul and I moved here in February 2009.  Now 2 1/2 years later, I weigh 30 pounds more than I did when we moved here.  (Numbers are not so important, so I’m not going to share my actual weight-some things are just too personal)….but, for me, that wasn’t good.

Because of my age and my height, I am still within the “healthy weight range” but I just wasn’t satisfied with myself because I knew I could do better (like when we lived in Abilene).  So, after trying and failing, losing and gaining, I bit the bullet and decided to join Weight Watchers.

My fear in writing this and letting the world know is that I didn’t want “people” to judge me because I was doing Weight Watchers.  Yes, I am still within my “healthy weight range” so technically I’m not overweight.  But, to me, it’s way more than just a number.  It’s a feeling.  It’s a confidence.  It’s a self-esteem issue.  And I knew I wasn’t feeling right.  I knew I wasn’t confident enough.  And I knew I could do better.  So, regardless of the weight number, I did it for myself.

I joined Weight Watchers on Tuesday, May 31st.  I am going to meetings in Chillicothe every Tuesday night.  My 1st week I lost 5.4 pounds.  I went back last night and I had lost 3 pounds.  So, I’ve lost 8.4 pounds so far.  My “goal” is about 20-25 pounds.  I only joined Weight Watchers for 17 weeks, so I am able to go to meetings through September.  Hopefully, I can stick with it after that (and that it becomes a lifestyle, not just a phase).  I was really hoping Paul could do it with me, but he eats every meal at camp…so, maybe in August, when camp is over.

I have been really pleased so far.  It’s really “fun” to figure out what you can eat and the point value of everything.  It’s almost a game to me.  It’s weird, I know….but it makes you so aware of what you are actually eating and how much you are eating….

So, here’s to Weight Watchers.

 

 

One thought on “Weight Watchers

  1. Pingback: Old Settler’s 5K | Finding Refuge

Leave a Reply

