Calling me ugly…

Calling me ugly won’t make you beautiful!  (powerful quote, huh)?

I watched Dr. Phil today (high quality T.V., I know) and it was about “bullying” in high school.  Dr. Phil had a guest on the show that was bullied in high school (10 years ago) and it still traumatizes her to this day.  It went on to say things about her children (how she homeschools them b/c she doesn’t want them to go to public school and be bullied, she whitens their baby teeth so they won’t be made fun of, how she buys her daughter the nicest things so she won’t feel bad, etc.)

Anyway, I just got to thinking about “bullying.”

In high school I was not popular (whatever that really means) but I wasn’t classified as a nerd (at least I don’t think so, maybe I was) either.  I’m not sure what class I would fall into, if I would at all.  I graduated from a class of about 500, which means there were about 2,000 people in my high school.

Maybe there was bullying and I just didn’t know it.

Maybe people made fun of me and I just didn’t know it.

Of course there were certain groups that existed, by natural division (cheerleaders, football players, band members, etc) but I don’t think it was on purpose, other than that’s what they participated in.  The lines were pretty defined, as in we rarely had cheerleaders in band (I was in band) or football players in band (although there were a few that were the exception), but I don’t think having those lines was a bad thing; it just meant that we all had different interests.

I don’t remember there being bullies in my grade.

I don’t remember “bullying” anyone.

I guess things have really changed in the past 12 years, since I graduated.  Or maybe I am just naive.

Here are some statistics that I found….that are really saddening…

Here are some School Bullying Statistics from 2009 Surveys:

*Over 75% of our students are subjected to harassment by a bully or Cyber-Bully and experience physical, psychological and/or emotional abuse.

*Over 20% of our kids admit to being a bully or participating in bully-like activities.

*Over one half of bullying & Cyber-Bullying events go unreported to authorities or parents.

*In 2009 surveys showed over 100,000 children carried guns to school as a result of being bullied.

*28% of students who carry weapons in school have witnessed violence in their homes.

*On a daily average 160,000 children miss school because they fear they will be bullied if they attend classes.

*On a monthly average 282,000 students are physically attacked by a bully.

*Every seven minutes a child is bullied on a school playground with over 85% of those instances occurring without any intervention.

*46% of males and 26% of females admit to having been involved in physical fights as a result of being bullied.

*Over 85% of our teenagers say that revenge as an aftermath of being bullied is the leading cause for school shootings and homicide.

*The top 5 states in regards to reported incidents of bullying and Cyber-Bullying are California, New York, Illinois, Pennsylvania, and Washington.

*A child commits suicide as a direct result of being bullied once every half hour with 19,000 bullied children attempting to commit suicide over the course of one year.

Leave a Reply

