“Dude, Where’s My Car?”

No, it has nothing to do with the movie…it was just a funny title for this post b/c it was so very true…

Tuesday afternoon Paul and I took a spontaneous trip to Mattieson State Park to go hiking.  We also went to Buffalo Rock State Park, but this post is mostly about Mattieson.

About 3 months ago, right after we moved here, we went hiking at Starved Rock State Park.  (see previous post from March).  I really enjoyed that, but it was pretty crowded and there were lots of stairs/hills/etc.  We had heard from a couple of different people that Mattieson was way better, so we thought we’d try it out.  Well, let me tell you…it was different…

At Starved Rock they have clearly marked trails and signs everywhere telling you where you are and where you’re going…they also have trail maps almost every mile or so, telling you which direction you need to go.  Well, Mattieson has a trail map at the very beginning but that’s it.  We wondered around and around on different trails for about an hour.  At one point I looked across the field and I could see our car but we just couldn’t get there…after another 20 minutes or so of walking, I finally just cut through the field to get to our car.  So, hence the title, “Dude, Where’s My Car?”

I did not like Mattieson as much as Starved Rock.  However, I will say I liked Mattieson better than Buffalo Rock State Park.  Buffalo Rock only had one small little “woodlands” trail and the rest of it was a gravel road…I felt like I was walking on our driveway.  They called it the River Bluff trail but I didn’t see river there for awhile; all I saw was a bunch of trees and a field. 

So, needless to say, it was a pretty day and I enjoyed spending time with Paul, but next time, I think I’ll go back to Starved Rock.  Also, Paul says I was grumpy the whole time b/c I didn’t like it, so he’s not taking me back there again…

Texas Tech sign on one of the trail markers

rustic, creek area

Do you see our car in the distance?

cool picture Paul took

cool picture Paul took

me...almost to the car

 

Leave a Reply

